Characteristic

     Olsztyn Commune is located on the Krakow-Czestochowa Jura, 12 km southeast from the borders of Czestochowa. the national road No. 46 runs directly through the site as well as the railway route Kielce - Częstochowa.

     Olsztyn Commune covers area of 10,913 hectares and is inhabited by 7012 people. It lies within the Landscape Park and its buffer zone. In the municipality there are two reserves: Góra Żielona -  Green Mountain and Sokole Gory - Falcon Mountains. It is one of the most picturesque corners of Jura. The values of natural environment which consist of elements of inanimate nature, biological diversity and rare endemic plant species are subject to protection under the Landscape Park ‘Eagles' Nests’.

     Olsztyn is the seat of municipal authorities, which put emphasis on the use of tourist amenities of this recreational area. The biggest tourist attraction here are the ruins of the castle dating back to the beginning of 14th century. To the present days Olsztyn preserved the historic layout of streets, partly with wooden buildings. A baroque parish church of St. John the Baptist is definitely a must-see. Funded by the County Head of Prussia, Jerzy Dominik Lubomirski in 1722-26, is an example of one-nave church built on the plan of the cross whose arms form two rectangular chapels. Stones from the ruins of the castle were used to build it. In the wall surrounding the church there is a chapel with a painting of St. Barbara from the early 18th century. Another thing worth seeing is The Olsztyn Crib located in the vicinity of the market square.

     The area of the municipality is a convenient place to practice various sports such as rock climbing, paragliding, speleology, hiking, biking and riding. Numerous recreational sports and cultural events are held here periodically as the International Fireworks and Laser Shows, jogging with The Miss World Aneta Kręglicka, The Review of Artistic Abstinent Creativity ‘The Castle’, etc. Traditionally, a frequent destination for hiking and biking are The Falcon Mountains lying in the municipality.

     The first mention of Olsztyn, dating from the early 14th century concerned the existing Przymilowice castle. Soon, in the vicinity of the stronghold, a castle called ‘Olsztynek’ – ‘a small Olsztyn’ was raised (the name given by Pawel Odrowaz), which in 1448 received city rights from  Casimir the Jagiellonian. An important moment in the history of Olsztyn was to give the right to organize markets and fairs in 1532, which influenced its further development. Expansion of the city, however, was interrupted, first by the military invasion of Maximillian Habsburg’s army in 1587, and nearly a century later, by the Swedish troops. A fire in 1719 brought a complete destruction to the area, and Olsztyn, despite the status of royal town had become in fact an agricultural settlement. But it was the Tsar's edict of 1870 that formally deprived Olsztyn of civic rights.
         © 2017 Zamek Olsztyn. All rights reserved. statystyka
Realizacja: ERMATGROUP